My License Online Services
home contact us


Appraiser Trainees
How to become a Trainee
Trainee FAQs
Trainee Application
Find a Sponsor     (Appraiser Search)
Sponsorship Form
     Education
Education Main Page
     Experience
Experience Affidavit
Experience Explanation
Experience Log
Experience Log Supplement
 KEY To Symbols
= web page on this site
= Adobe PDF file format
= site external to TALCB

Appraiser Trainees Home Page


The authorized Appraiser Trainee classification is a way for a person with little or no real estate appraisal experience or appraiser education to enter the real estate appraisal profession. The Certified and Licenced classifications require acceptable experience, education and examination.

Appraiser Trainees are addressed in Subchapter H. (Sections 351-355) of the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Act (Chapter 1103, Texas Occupations Code) and in Section 153.21 of the Rules of the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (22 TAC §153).


The Essential Questions & Answers Regarding Trainees
  • What is an Appraiser Trainee?
  • What are the requirements to become an authorized Appraiser Trainee?
  • What are the requirements to become a Certified or Licensed Appraiser?
  • Where can I get an Appraiser Trainee Application?
  • Once I become a Trainee, what are the annual Trainee renewal requirements?
  • Other Frequently Asked Questions regarding Appraiser Trainees

  • What is an Appraiser Trainee?

    An Appraiser Trainee is a person who is authorized (approved, but not licensed) by the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board (TALCB) to gain legal real estate appraisal experience under the sponsorship of a State Certified General or Certified Residential Real Estate Appraiser.

    back to the questions at top


    What are the requirements to become an authorized Appraiser Trainee?

    An applicant for Appraiser Trainee must meet these requirements:

    1. be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien
    2. be at least 18 years of age
    3. be a legal resident of the State of Texas for at least 60 days immediately before the filing of the application, and
    4. satisfy the board as to the prospective trainee's honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity
    5. meet all other qualifications established by the board.

    The certified sponsor must “actively, personally, and diligently supervise an appraiser trainee under his or her sponsorship” and must sign the appraisal reports. The sponsor is responsible to the Board and to the public for the appraiser trainee’s conduct.

    back to the questions at top


    What are the requirements to become a Certified or Licensed Appraiser?

    For more than 60 years Texas has required a license to appraise real property for a fee, or be otherwise exempted by law. The authorized Appraiser Trainee classification is a way to legally appraise real property and gain the necessary appraisal experience to later become certified or licensed. Unlicensed real estate appraising is a Class B Misdemeanor.

    Acceptable appraisal experience for state licensure or certification must meet these requirements:

    1. comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP)
    2. be verifiable and supported by written reports and work files
    3. be performed when a person had legal authority to appraise real estate, and
    4. comply with the Appraisal Qualifications Board (AQB) criteria for acceptable experience.
    back to the questions at top

    Where can I get an Appraiser Trainee Application?

    Download the Trainee Application.

    back to the questions at top


    See our other Frequently Asked Questions regarding Appraiser Trainees.





    Home Contact TALCB Disclaimer Privacy Policy Open Records
     
    Texas.gov Statewide Search Veterans Portal Texas Homeland Security Where the Money Goes Report Fraud