How to Become a Certified General Appraiser
A Certified General Appraiser is a person certified under the Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Act to perform real property appraisals.
Note: To be eligible to apply for a Certified General Appraiser you must:
- Be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien.
- Be eighteen (18) years of age or older.
- Provide 3000 hours of acceptable and verifiable appraisal experience acquired over a minimum of 30 months of which a minimum of 1500 hours must be non residential real property appraisal experience.
- Satisfy the board as to the applicant's honesty, trustworthiness, and integrity.
- Applicants will be required to pay a National Registry fee after the exam is passed to obtain an active license.
The following education is required to become a Certified Appraiser:
A Bachelorís degree or higher (in any field from an accredited College or University) and the following courses:
- Basic Appraisal Principles (30 hours)
- Basic Appraisal Procedures (30 hours)
- 15-Hour national USPAP or Equivalent (15 hours)
- General Appraiser Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use (30 hours)
- General Appraiser Site Evaluation and Cost Approach (30 hours)
- General Appraiser Sales Comparison and Income Approaches (30 hours)
- General Appraiser Income Approach (60 hours)
- General Appraiser Report Writing and Case Studies (30 hours)
- Statistics, Modeling and Finance (15 hours)
- Appraisal Subject Matter Electives (30 hours)
Total Hours Required Ė 300 Hours
Evidence of successful course completion shall be presented via credit transcript or course completion certificate. A copy of the college transcript awarding the degree must be submitted as evidence of completing the Bachelorís Degree. A copy of all education documents must be submitted when filing an application. DO NOT submit original transcripts and/or course completion certificates. Keep the originals for your personal files and send copies to the Board.
An applicant is required to submit an Appraisal Experience Affidavit and a TALCB Appraisal Experience Log listing a total of 3,000 hours of acceptable real estate appraisal experience completed over a minimum of 30 months. A minimum of 1,500 of those hours must be in non-residential real estate appraising. Experience may be acquired anytime during the appraiserís career when that person had legal authority to perform real estate appraisals. The appraisals must also comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP). Applicants must be able to produce copies of the work files and an appraisal assignment described in the experience log.
Filing Your Application
After you have completed your education and experience, you may file the online Application for a Certified General Appraiser at My License Online Services filing fee. Education and experience documents may be submitted to or fax to (512) 936-3899.
To submit the Application for Certification (Certified General Appraiser) form, you must include the required fees. Please note that an application received without the appropriate fee will be rejected and the fee will be returned. Fees should be submitted in one check, cashiers check or money order payable to the TALCB. Cash will not be accepted. The National Registry $80.00 fee must be paid after the exam is passed. The application and fee should be mailed to:
Texas Appraiser Licensing and Certification Board
P O Box 12188
Austin, TX 78711-2188
ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE.
An examination is required and must be passed within one year of the application filing date. Applicants may not take the examination until the education and experience requirements have been met. All requirements must be satisfied, including successfully passing the examination before a general certification will be issued. An applicant who fails the examination three consecutive times may not apply for re-examination or submit a new license application unless the applicant submits evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant has completed 30 additional hours of core education after the date the applicant failed the examination for the third time. The examination fee is $54.00 each time the exam is taken.
Request for Inactive Status
After a General Certification has been issued, an appraiser can request inactive status in one of two situations:
- If the certification is active, the renewal fee must be submitted along with the Request for Inactive Status form for CURRENTLY certified or licensed appraisers and the required $25.00 inactive fee. The current original certification must accompany the request for inactive status form. The request will be returned if all required documents are not submitted.
- If the certification is expired for one year or less, the Renewal of Appraiser Certification form must be submitted along with the renewal fee. An inactive license will issue if the box is checked to renew under inactive status.
Request to Return To Active Status
An appraiser who wishes to return to active status must:
- Satisfy 28 hours of appraiser continuing education for each two-year renewal period the certification has been inactive, which must include the 7-hour National USPAP Update course.
- Submit copies of education documents along with the Request for Active Status form.
- Pay the $80.00 National Registry fee and $50.00 active status fee ($130.00 total).
Renewal Requirements for General Certification
The license or certification issued by the board is valid for two years after the date of issue. Appraisers will receive a renewal notice approximately 90 days before the renewal filing deadline. Failure to receive the renewal notice does not relieve the appraiser of the responsibility of timely applying for renewal. The license or certification will expire if the renewal is not timely submitted.
To renew your license you must:
- Pay the renewal fee online at My License Online Services no later than the expiration date of your license; OR
- Submit the Renewal of Appraiser Certification form along with the renewal fee, which must be postmarked no later than the expiration date of the license.
- Satisfy the required 28 hours of appraiser continuing education, which must include completion of the 7-hour National USPAP Update course, unless renewing on inactive status. Submit copies of course completion certificates to or fax to (512) 936-3899. Credit will not be awarded for the same course taken within a 3-year period.
A certified licensee who is unable to complete the 28 hours of continuing education may request an extension of education requirements by renewing the license AND submitting the ACE Extension Request form along with an additional $200.00 fee. An extension must be submitted by the expiration date. Persons granted a 60-day extension may not perform appraisals in federally-related transactions. The education must be completed within 60 days of the extension expiration date or the certification will automatically be placed on inactive status and sponsorship of any trainees will be terminated. Provide copies of course completion certificates to verify satisfactory completion of courses.
To Renew an Expired General Certification
Submit the Renewal of Appraiser Certification form with the appropriate filing fee.
To Return on Active Status
If Appraiser Continuing Education (ACE) is complete and the National Registry fee is paid, the license will be issued ACTIVE.
To Return Under Inactive Status
An inactive license will be issued if the box is checked to renew on inactive status. The National Registry fee or ACE is not required if renewing inactive.
If the license is expired more than six months, the individual must re-apply and retake the examination.